A/C and Wedding Update

Initially the compressor, which was replaced before I bought it because it blew on the test drive (Thank God!), checked out fine and so did the leak test.  That was Friday afternoon at 16:55 when I walked out of there.  I got into the car and It didn’t seem as cool as it should be but, hey, it’s Florida and it was HOT out so I thought maybe that’s all.  So I carried on, went and got a pair of shoes to go with the new dress for the festivities at the Wedding on Saturday night.

Come Saturday after the prerequisites of showering and drying hair, applying all stuff eye related, I don’t wear “make-up” unless it’s and EVENT in the dead of winter and I look like I was dug up. I hate not being able to touch my own face not to mention getting that stuff on my clothes and it never fails, I’ll rub my eyes and voila I’m scaring children with my “raccoon eyes” as my Mother use to call it.

I’ll be using it to carry stuff to work with now.

So, I’ve got a dress of synthetics, an Abya, of the same synthetics, a scarf…..you get the picture. I’ve got all the little sewing things I MIGHT need to repair any emergencies before/during the Wedding and it all fit into this adorable  little container and the scarves and stuff all neatly fit into the carry bag I decided to whip up because I didn’t want to walk into a formal occasion with a granted, nice, but still, a Publix “green bag”, hence the cool one I made of the same material I made a bag to bring my sewing machine along on trips. That bad is one of my best creations. It’s lined and has pockets just for scissors. They’re “V” shaped without a bottom to poke into.

This is the “emergency repair” kit, coincidentally with a sample of the material I used for my new bag.

ANYWAY….I get out to the car all ready, start her up and get the air blowing, and the !@##$$ING thing is blowing hot air, needless to say I am on the verge of a meltdown. To keep me from getting all upset with all of this “stuff” already on my face and now all of that synthetic material is stuck to me, I just force myself to say “FORGET IT FOR NOW!!!”.

I did call the A/C people right then, he said, “Well bring it over, we’re open till 4”.  It’s a joke on me from the Universe because I’ve already paid the $98 to have it all checked out and recharged. Of course, at 14:30 on THE DAY OF THE EVENT and I’m due at 15:00 ish  I can’t go there.  I was blessed in that it was actually cool outside because there was/is a big storm brewing to the NE just off the Atlantic coast of Florida and it’s having a blessedly cooling effect.

On the wonderfully up side, everything went swimmingly well. The scarves were all just right and as it turned out we were still one short, but that was unforeseeable, and therefore acceptable.  The cape turned out very nice, I loved it the way it matched so well, especially because I wanted the mini Perl trim to accent the ones on the Wedding dress and the poor frazzled  bride let me do it and was pleased with the end result. The Bride was just as calm as could be on the day of the Wedding and just as sweet as she was all the way through the madness.

I was lucky enough to be off today and they were not at the A/C repair place so I ran over and they did some testing that took longer and found the problem. To be fair, I got there at 16:35 on Friday evening and they got the tests done and charged it, all in 20 minutes.

After recharging it, because it had leaked out, twice during this stint of testing.  The real culprit was found. The first time it stopped being “cold” I took it into the dealer and when the lot guy took the cap off of the low pressure valve it literally blew away and he never found it.  So I bought one and went to the repair place that the parts store recommended.

Anywhooo, the same thing happened to the tech while he was testing it and he replaced the valve again.  The final diagnosis is that the threads and the in line filter that the valve screws into are not good anymore.  They are holding for the moment, but it will leak out over a couple months unless it has a blow out. That’s how long it took the first time.  The line pressure is about 50 psi more than it shoud be so that’s what determined the the filter replacement. The line its self is going to be costly, but the filter is only $7 so by the time it’s done, it’ll be $395 😛  Yes, it’s a luxury, but this is Florida and the Summer has officially arrived and it’s already a very muggy 85 degrees Fahrenheit  when I walk out the door at 06:30 in the morning!!!! I would like to arrive at work looking clean and crisp as opposed to crumpled and sweaty, so I’m going to be “working for A/C money” for the foreseeable future, lol.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, My crafting

Leave a Reply

