And Another Thing…

When my relationship ended and I moved to North Carolina, I first had to donate my library, and I do mean “Library”.  It was a ROOM of books.  I am slowly, but surely re-acquiring them, but in e-book format.  Those are carried VERY easily.

While I have been doing the many things denoted in my previous posts of today I was also consuming the written word. I did not mistype that. When I find something that I am going to take time to actually read I usually “consume” it.

I had the pleasure of inhaling Deborah Harkness‘ first book, A Discovery of Witches, which was in paperback and given to me. I then promptly got the second one in the All Souls Trilogy, Shadows of Night, in digital format (lighter) so now, because I’m a voracious reader I’m chomping at the bit for the next one, lol. 

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)               Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2)

As  it turns out I also literally stumbled onto another new, to me, author.  Lara Adrian who writes the Midnight Breed Series.  I read a free little novella connecting one of her books to the next one and was hooked!   Of course, I just read the #10, completely out of order not realizing there were so many, so now I wait yet again……

                                      Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #10)

Then there’s the series I have been reading for years, literally, since I was 21 or so while in the USAF.  She was one of the first female Science Fiction writers and one of her first pieces was published in the year I was born, 1961.

The incomparable, Anne McCaffrey and later her son, Todd McCaffrey. I was and am, now especially, trying not to inhale this last book of the last series that Anne actually participated in writing.

                                                                Dragon's Time (Dragonriders of Pern Series)Sky Dragons (Dragonriders of Pern Series)

* I would officially like to express my extreme displeasure toward any of the so called Critics that have recently had nothing but negative remarks about Mr. McCaffrey’s work. As one of the very well acquainted fans of both of their works, you can kiss my grits!

Sorry, needed to get that off of my chest.

Of the few actual books I still lug around in boxes, without complaint, of course are Anne/Todd McCaffrey books and my next all time favorite authors, that I have actually reread the series on (embarrassed to admit) MANY times when craving something engrossing to read, are;

1. Lisanne Norman – The Sholan Alliance Series

Turning Point (Sholan Alliance Series #1)       Fortune's Wheel (Sholan Alliance Series #2)       Fire Margins (Sholan Alliance Series #3)     Razor's Edge (Sholan Alliance Series #4)       Dark Nadir (Sholan Alliance Series #5)    Stronghold Rising (Sholan Alliance Series #6)  Between Darkness and Light (Sholan Alliance Series #7)      Shades of Gray (Sholan Alliance Series #8)

2. Diana Gabaldon – The Outlander Series

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)   Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander Series #2)  Voyager (Outlander Series #3)  Drums of Autumn (Outlander Series #4)    The Fiery Cross (Outlander Series #5)    A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander Series #6)    An Echo in the Bone (Outlander Series #7)

I am currently engrossed in the last, An Echo In The Bone.

As with so many of the characters in Anne’s books we fall in love with these “people” and pray for their safe passage through time into history.  In the series of Mrs. Gabaldon’s, we the readers find ourselves holding our breath collectively because this new adventure is well known to many of us who are lovers of history, and the revolutionary war particularly is fraught with so many intricate twists and turns.

It has just occured to me that quite a few of my favorite authors are actually Historians with PhD’s and are Professors to boot.  I am also a major fan of Orson Scot Card, of which my son and I have a few signed books that, yes, I still carry around too 😉

I am also a fan of W.E.B. Griffin’s, The Aviators, which started with the Corps. My Father was 101st Airborne and I was the only one to follow into the Military, of his four offspring. I chose The United States Air Force. I fixed the perfectly good air planes they jumped out of, lol. Daddy got me hooked on this series while I was riding around  the country with him in his 18 wheeler.

Semper Fi (Corps Series #1)

Geeeee Whizzzz, talk about going off on a tangent, oh well, it was fun.

Such fond memories….

1 Comment

September 8, 2012 · 11:05 PM

One response to “And Another Thing…

  1. Still think you should try out the Wheel of Time series… So good.

Leave a Reply

