Preparations

With the new job starting just after the new year I am in the process of getting a lot of home “stuff” back up to date so that I’m not playing catch-up after work begins again. I am usually very tired for the first week, because my brain is absorbing so much new information so I don’t want to have little messes everywhere that need straightening.

I am also in the process of “culling my herd” of possessions. My step-mom is going to be moving in just after the new year and we’re getting a three bedroom either then or when one comes available.  Technically, there are two available now, but we’re both military widows so we have to schedule that kind of thing when we’ll both have the funding available.  Due to the season, we may actually get the one we want, if not, then we’re probably going to go somewhere else with a fireplace 😀 It would be much more cost-effective to get one of these, it’s a great place and I like it, but I would dearly love having a fireplace, even if it is only gas 😛

So it’s laundry, a little deeper cleaning, and generally going through everything to decide if it’s going with or to the Goodwill.  After spending time with my Son and his boys yesterday, since all of the projects needed doing, I thought I’d hit the local grocery store, Ingles, because they maintain a small section where they put boxes for the public to take if they need them.  Talk about a blessing! The first one I stopped at, there was a young man “with a cart” :D, about to fill it up, so I suggested he just truck the cart out to my car, that I’d parked at the entrance.  Filled my car to bursting!  Happy Camper, is me!!  In recent years, I would just buy them from Wally Word so that I got boxes that I personally can pick up.  I can’t afford to pay anyone to move my stuff and to be honest, I’m a bit leery, since I’ve heard so many horror stories about possessions being stolen or so disrespected so bad they’re destroyed.

I had a brainstorm last night, late of course 😛  I have a shrug I’ve tried several times to do the finishing on and then it would be too small, but I refused to donate it or give up!

022    12-2013-Shrug a 12-2013-Shrug b

This is what it looked like originally, rather obvious that it wouldn’t fit, the other two are how it looks now :))))

Very happy camper! Looking at the original, I now realized I’ve been carrying it around since 2012, lol.

** The trim at the cuffs is from Nicky Epstein’s book, “Crocheting on The Edge”.

I have recently finished another set for sale, hopefully, it’ll be received as well as the last sets 😀

Dec 2013 Set 1525852_10200242701990552_1390769025_o

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

